Tongan Pa'anga (TOP) Profile

T$ (sometimes PT)

1/100 seniti (symbol: c)
5c, 10c, 20c, 50c
1c, 2c
T$1, T$2, T$5, T$10, T$20, T$50, T$100
National Reserve Bank of Tonga (


The Tongan Pa'anga (TOP) is the official currency of Tonga. It is the legal tender used for all transactions within the country.


The Pa'anga was first introduced in 1967, replacing the Tongan Pound, after Tonga's currency reform to decimalize its monetary system.

Tonga is a constitutional monarchy and has been one of the few countries in the South Pacific region to maintain its independence throughout its history.

Coins and Banknotes:

The Tongan Pa'anga is subdivided into 100 seniti.


Coins currently in circulation are 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50 seniti, as well as 1 and 2 Pa'anga.


The most commonly used banknotes are 5, 10, 20, and 50 Pa'anga.

Each banknote typically features important cultural, historical symbols, and landmarks of Tonga.