Russian Ruble (RUB) Profile

руб. / р.

1/100,  kopek (symbol: коп. / к.)
1 руб, 2 руб, 5 руб, 10 kopeks, 50 kopeks
1 kopek, 5 kopeks
50 руб, 100 руб, 500 руб, 1000 руб, 5000 руб
5 руб, 10 руб, 5000 руб
Bank of Russia (www.cbr,ru)

Russian ruble users

Russian ruble is the currency of the Russian Federation and the two limitedly recognized republics of Abkhazia and South Ossetia.

Russia is one of the fifteen post-Soviet states which declared to secede from the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (or the Soviet Union, USSR) in its dissolution in December of 1991. The 15 post-Soviet states are usually divided into five groupings which are Russia, three Baltic states (Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia), five Central Asia states (Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan), three Eastern Europe states (Ukraine, Belarus, Moldova), and three Southern Caucasus states (Georgia, Armenia, Azerbaijan).

The 15 post-Soviet states (exchange rate refer to: Jan 30th, 2013)
Groups Countries Currency name Code 1 USD= 1 EUR= 1 GBP=
Russia Russia Russian ruble RUB 30.02101 40.73320 47.46084
Eastern Europe states Ukraine Ukrainian hryvnia UAH 8.14863 11.05339 12.87830

Russian ruble history

The ruble has been the Russian currency unit for about 500 years. Early ruble like in the end of the 18th century, it was set with two metals of pure silver and gold at a ratio of 15:1. The ruble discontinued the gold standard peg since World War I and started suffering hyperinflation since then. Hence, Russia did several times of redenomination since 1921.

Russian ruble coins and banknotes

Russian ruble is subdivided into 100 kopeks. It has no official currency symbol but currently рубль is widely used.

Frequently used coins are in denominations of 10, 50 kopeks, 1, 2, 5, 10 rubles and banknotes are 50, 100, 500, 1,000 rubles.

Russian ruble and the currency of Ruble

Currently, the currency units of Belarus, Transnistria, Russia, Abkhazia, and South Ossetia are named rubles.

Countries currently using Ruble currency (exchange rate refer to: Feb.1st, 2013)
Countries Currency name Currency code 1 USD= 1 EUR= 1 GBP=
Belarus Belarusian ruble BYR 8638.00 11785.20 13561.20
Transnistria Transnistrian ruble None / / /
Russia Abkhazia South Ossetia Russian ruble RUB 29.8596 40.7390 46.8781

1. Transnistrian ruble has no ISO 4217 code because Transnistria is a state with limited recognition internationally.
2. The two republics of Abkhazia and South Ossetia have limited international recognitions.