Papua New Guinean Kina (PGK) Profile


1/100,  toea (plural: toea)
K1, 5 toea, 10 toea, 20 toea, 50 toea
K2, K5, K10, K20, K50, K100
Bank of Papua New Guinea (


The Papua New Guinean Kina (PGK) is the official currency of Papua New Guinea. It is the legal tender used for all transactions within the country.


The Kina was introduced in 1975, replacing the Australian Pound, after Papua New Guinea gained independence from Australia.

Papua New Guinea is known for its diverse culture and natural beauty, including dense rainforests, mountains, and unique wildlife.

Coins and Banknotes:

The Papua New Guinean Kina is subdivided into 100 toea.


Coins currently in circulation are 5, 10, 20, and 50 toea, as well as 1 and 2 Kina.


The most commonly used banknotes are 2, 5, 10, 20, 50, and 100 Kina.

Each banknote typically features important cultural, historical symbols, and landmarks of Papua New Guinea.