Solomon Islands Dollar (SBD) Profile

SI$, or $

1/100, cent; symbol: c
SI$1, SI$2, 10c, 20c, 50c
SI$5, SI$10, SI$20, SI$50, SI$100
Central Bank of Solomon Islands (


The Solomon Islands Dollar (SBD) is the official currency of the Solomon Islands. It is the legal tender used for all transactions within the country.


The Solomon Islands Dollar was first introduced in 1977, replacing the Australian Pound, after the country gained independence from the United Kingdom.

The currency has remained in use since then, and the Solomon Islands continues to have a close relationship with Australia, with the Australian Dollar (AUD) also widely accepted in the country.

Coins and Banknotes:

The Solomon Islands Dollar is subdivided into 100 cents, although cents coins are not commonly used nowadays.


Coins currently in circulation are 5, 10, 20, 50 cents, and 1 and 2 dollars.


The most commonly used banknotes are 5, 10, 20, 50, and 100 dollars.

Each banknote typically features important cultural, historical symbols, and landmarks of the Solomon Islands.