Croatian Kuna (HRK) Profile


1/100, lipa (Symbol: lp)
1 kn, 2 kn, 5 kn, 5 lp, 10 lp, 20 lp, 50 lp
25 kn, 1 lp, 2 lp
10 kn, 20 kn, 50 kn, 100 kn, 200 kn
5 kn, 500 kn, 1000 kn
Croatian National Bank (

Croatian Kuna Users

Croatian Kuna is the currency of Croatia, which is a former Yugoslavia (officially named Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia state - SFRY). Yugoslavia historically existed from 1943 to 1992, and now it consists of six recognized states: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, and Slovenia, and one limited-recognized state, Kosovo. Three of them, Slovenia, Montenegro, and Kosovo, use the euro as their currencies, but only Slovenia officially adopted the euro strictly following ERM (The European Exchange Rate Mechanism) rules.

Croatia is expected to become a member state of the European Union (EU) on July 1st, 2013.

Former Yugoslavia (Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, SFRY) (Exchange date is as of Feb. 1st, 2013)
States Currency Name Code 1 USD= 1 EUR= 1 GBP= Notes
Bosnia and Herzegovina Bosnia and Herzegovina Convertible Mark BAM 1.43307 1.95583 2.25006  
Croatia Croatian Kuna HRK 5.60145 7.64474 8.79423  
Macedonia Macedonian Denar MKD 47.08730 64.26480 73.95280  
Montenegro Euro EUR 0.73270 1.00000 1.15023 see note <1>
Serbia Serbian Dinar RSD 81.24840 110.88600 127.55700  
Slovenia Euro EUR 0.73270 1.00000 1.15023  
Kosovo Euro EUR 0.73270 1.00000 1.15023 see note <2>

<1>. Both Montenegro and Kosovo are not members of the European Union (EU) and they are unofficial users of the euro.
<2>. Kosovo self-declared independence from Serbia in 2008 and has obtained limited recognition internationally.

Croatian Kuna History

The word "kuna" means "marten" in Croatian, and highly valued marten skins used to be the value units during Roman times.

Croatian Kuna (HRK) was introduced on May 30th, 1994, replacing the transitional currency of Croatian dinar (HRD) at a rate of 1 HRK = 1000 HRD. Croatian dinar was introduced after Croatia's declaration of independence and replaced the 1990 version of the Yugoslav dinar at par.

Croatian Kuna Coins and Banknotes

Croatian Kuna is subdivided into 100 lipa. Coins and banknotes now in circulation were introduced in 1994. Frequently used coins are in denominations of 5, 10, 20, 50 lipa and 1, 2, 5kn, and banknotes are in denominations of 10, 20, 50, 100, and 200kn. The small denominations such as 1, 2 lipa, 25 kn coins and 5 kn banknotes and big denominations of 500, 1000kn banknotes are rarely used.