Czech Koruna (CZK) Profile

1/100, haléř (symbol: h, plural: haléře, haléřů)
1 kč, 2 kč, 5 kč, 10 kč, 20 kč, 50 kč
100 kč, 200 kč, 500 kč, 1000 kč, 2000 kč, 5000 kč
Czech National Bank (

Plural of koruna česká: koruny české, korun českých

Czech koruna users and history

Czech koruna has been the official currency of Czech Republic since February of 1993 after Czechoslovakia was dissolved to two parts of Czech Republic and Slovak Republic in January of the same year. As a consequence, Czechoslovak koruna was replaced by Czech koruna and Slovak koruna at par. Both Czech Republic and Slovak Republic (Slovakia) joined European Union in 2004. Slovakia has adopted the euro as its official currency since 2009. Czech Republic has the euro adoption plan but has not set up the exact year.

Czech koruna coins and banknotes

Czech koruna equals to 100 haléřů while the smallest denomination in circulation is 1 koruna. The denominations of 10, 20 and 50 haléřů coins and 20, 50 korun banknotes were introduced in 1993 but eventually were withdrawn from circulation during the year of 2003 to 2011.

Czech koruna and the currency of crown

In English, Czech koruna is sometimes referred to as the Czech crown. The crown is a currency used in six European countries and their dependencies and dominions and crown names various because of these countries’ official language.

Economies using the crown
Countries Currency name Currency code Subunit Year established
Czech Republic Czech koruna CZK 1/100 = Haléru 1993
(and Greenland, Faroe Islands)
Danish krone DKK 1/100 = Øre 1875
Iceland Icelandic krona ISK 1/100 = Eyrir (obsolete) 1874
Norway and 4 dependencies Norwegian krone NOK 1/100 = øre 1873
Sweden Swedish krona SEK 1/100 = ören (discontinued) 1873