Qatari Riyal (QAR) Profile

Yemeni rial symbol

1/100, dirham
1 dirham, 5 dirhams, 10 dirhams, 25 dirhams, 50 dirhams
1 riyal, 5 riyals, 10 riyals, 50 riyals, 100 riyals, 500 riyals
Qatar Central Bank (

Qatari riyal is pegged with the U.S.dollar at 1 USD=3.64 QAR.


The Qatari Riyal (QAR) is the official currency of Qatar. It is the legal tender used for all transactions within the country.


The Qatari Riyal was first introduced in 1973, replacing the Gulf Rupee, after Qatar gained independence from the British protectorate.

Qatar is known for its vast reserves of natural gas and oil, which have played a significant role in the country's economic growth and stability.

Coins and Banknotes:

The Qatari Riyal is subdivided into 100 dirhams, although dirham coins are rarely used nowadays.


Coins currently in circulation are 1, 5, 10, 25, and 50 dirhams, as well as 1 Riyal.


The most commonly used banknotes are 1, 5, 10, 50, 100, and 500 Riyals.

Each banknote typically features important cultural, historical symbols, and landmarks of Qatar.