North Korean Won (KPW) Profile

1/100, chon (전/錢)
₩1, 1 chon, 5 chon, 10 chon, 50 chon
₩5, ₩10, ₩50, ₩100, ₩200, ₩500, ₩1000, ₩2000, ₩5000
Central Bank of the Democratic People's Republic of Korea


The North Korean Won (KPW) is the official currency of North Korea. It is the legal tender used for all transactions within the country.


The North Korean Won was first introduced in December 1947, replacing the Korean yen, which was used during the colonial period of Korea.

North Korea has a centralized economic system, and the value of the won is managed and controlled by the government.

Coins and Banknotes:

The North Korean Won is subdivided into 100 chon, although chon coins are not commonly used due to their low value.


Coins currently in circulation are 1, 5, 10, and 50 chon, as well as 1, 5, and 10 won.


The most commonly used banknotes are 5, 10, 50, 100, 200, 500, 1000, 2000, and 5000 won.

Each banknote typically features important political figures, landmarks, and symbols of North Korea.