Nepalese Rupee (NPR) Profile

₨ or Rp or रू.

1/100, Paisa
1 rupee, 2 rupees, 5 rupees, 10 rupees, 1 paisa, 5 paisa, 10 paisa, 25 paisa, 50 paisa
5 rupees, 10 rupees, 25 rupees, 50 rupees, 100 rupees, 500 rupees, 10000 rupees
1 rupee, 2 rupees
Nepal Rastra Bank (

Nepalese rupee is pegged with Indian rupee at 1 INR=1.6 NPR.


The Nepalese Rupee (NPR) is the official currency of Nepal. It is the legal tender used for all transactions within the country.


The Nepalese Rupee has a long history, with its roots dating back to ancient times when various currencies were used in the region.

The modern version of the Nepalese Rupee was first introduced in 1932 when Nepal was under the Rana regime.

Nepal has a managed exchange rate system, and the value of the Rupee is influenced by the country's trade and economic policies.

Coins and Banknotes:

The Nepalese Rupee is subdivided into 100 paisa, although paisa coins are rarely used due to their low value.


Coins currently in circulation are 1, 2, 5, and 10 Rupees, as well as 1, 2, 5, 10, 25, and 50 paisa.


The most commonly used banknotes are 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 500, and 1000 Rupees.

Each banknote typically features important cultural, historical symbols, and natural landmarks of Nepal.