Saudi Riyal (SAR) Profile

Yemeni rial symbol 

1/100, halala
5 halalas, 10 halalas, 25 halalas, 50 halalas, 100 halalas
1 rial, 5 rials, 10 rials, 20 rials, 50 rials, 100 rials, 200 rials, 500 rials
Saudi Arabian Monetary Agency  (

Saudi riyal is pegged with the U.S.dollar at 1 USD=3.75 SAR.


The Saudi Riyal (SAR) is the official currency of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. It is the legal tender used for all transactions within the country.


The Saudi Riyal was introduced as the official currency of Saudi Arabia in 1935. Prior to the Riyal, various currencies were used in the region, including the Indian Rupee and the Ottoman Turkish Lira. However, in 1935, the Saudi Arabian Monetary Authority (SAMA) was established, and the Riyal was introduced as a standardized currency for the kingdom.

Coins and Banknotes:

The Saudi Riyal is subdivided into 100 halalas. Coins and banknotes are issued in various denominations.


Commonly used coins are 5, 10, 25, 50 halalas, and 1 Riyal. There are also 1, 2, and 5 Riyal coins, but they are less commonly circulated.


The most commonly used banknotes are 1, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200, and 500 Riyals. The 1 Riyal and 5 Riyal banknotes are used for everyday transactions, while the higher denominations are used for larger purchases and as a store of value.

The designs of the banknotes often feature portraits of the Saudi royal family, prominent landmarks in Saudi Arabia, and elements representing the country's cultural heritage.