Yemeni Rial (YER) Profile

Yemeni rial symbol

1/100, fils
1 rial, 5 rials, 10 rials, 20 rials
50 rials, 100 rials, 200 rials, 250 rials, 500 rials, 1000 rials
Central Bank of Yemen (


The Yemeni Rial (YER) is the official currency of Yemen. It is the legal tender used for all transactions within the country.


The Yemeni Rial was first introduced in 1990, following the unification of North Yemen and South Yemen, which resulted in the creation of the modern Republic of Yemen.

Before unification, North Yemen used the North Yemeni Rial, and South Yemen used the South Yemeni Dinar as their respective currencies. After the unification, the Yemeni Rial became the official currency of the unified nation.

Coins and Banknotes:

The Yemeni Rial is subdivided into 100 fils, although fils coins are rarely used due to their low value.


Coins currently in circulation are 1, 5, 10, 20, and 50 Rials.


The most commonly used banknotes are 100, 200, 500, 1000, and 2000 Rials.

Each banknote typically features important historical and cultural landmarks of Yemen.