Kuwaiti Dinar (KWD) Profile

K.D. or د.ك

1/1000, fils
5 fils, 10 fils, 20 fils, 50 fils, 100 fils
¼ dinar, ½ dinar, 1 dinar, 5 dinars, 10 dinars, 20 dinars
Central Bank of Kuwait (www.cbk.gov.kw)


The Kuwaiti Dinar (KWD) is the official currency of Kuwait. It is the legal tender used for all transactions within the country.


The Kuwaiti Dinar was first introduced in 1961, replacing the Gulf Rupee, after Kuwait gained independence from the United Kingdom.

Since its introduction, the Kuwaiti Dinar has been one of the highest-valued currencies in the world.

Coins and Banknotes:

The Kuwaiti Dinar is subdivided into 1000 fils, although fils coins are rarely used due to their low value.


Coins currently in circulation are 5, 10, 20, 50, and 100 fils.


The most commonly used banknotes are 1/4, 1/2, 1, 5, 10, and 20 Kuwaiti Dinars.

Each banknote typically features important cultural and historical symbols of Kuwait.