Iranian Rial (IRR) Profile

Iranian rial symbol

1/100, dinar
250 rials, 500 rials, 1000 rials
50 rials, 100 rials, 2000 rials, 5000 rials
100 rials, 200 rials, 500 rials, 1000 rials, 2000 rials, 5000 rials, 10000 rials, 20000 rials, 50000 rials, 100000 rials
Central Bank of the Islamic Republic of Iran (


The Iranian Rial (IRR) is the official currency of Iran. It is the legal tender used for all transactions within the country.


The Iranian Rial has a long history, with its roots dating back to the ancient Persian Empire. Modern currency under the name "Rial" was first introduced in the 19th century.

Over the years, Iran has undergone several currency changes and redenominations to manage inflation and simplify transactions.

Coins and Banknotes:

The Iranian Rial is subdivided into 100 dinars, although dinar coins are no longer used due to their low value.


Coins currently in circulation are 50, 100, 250, 500, 1000, and 2000 Rials.


The most commonly used banknotes are 1000, 2000, 5000, 10,000, 20,000, 50,000, and 100,000 Rials.

Each banknote typically features important cultural and historical symbols of Iran.