Bhutanese Ngultrum (BTN) Profile


1/100, chhertum (chetrum) (symbol: Ch.)
Nu.1, Ch.20, Ch.25, Ch.50
Ch.5, Ch.10
Nu.1, Nu.5, Nu.10, Nu.20, Nu.50, Nu.100, Nu.500, Nu.1000
Royal Monetary Authority of Bhutan (

1.Bhutan use Bhutanese ngultrum alsong side Indian rupee.
2.Bhutanese ngultrum is pegged with Indian Rupee at par.


The Bhutanese Ngultrum (BTN) is the official currency of Bhutan. It is the legal tender used for all transactions within the country.


The Bhutanese Ngultrum was introduced in 1974, replacing the Indian Rupee, following Bhutan's decision to become an independent nation.

Bhutan maintains a close economic relationship with India, and the Indian Rupee is also widely accepted and used in Bhutan alongside the Ngultrum.

Coins and Banknotes:

The Bhutanese Ngultrum is subdivided into 100 chhertum.


Coins currently in circulation are 5, 10, 25, and 50 chhertum, as well as 1, 5, and 10 Ngultrum.


The most commonly used banknotes are 1, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 500, and 1000 Ngultrum.

Each banknote typically features important cultural and historical symbols of Bhutan, such as the country's iconic Dzong architecture and endangered species like the Black-necked Crane.

As of my last update in September 2021, this information was accurate. However, currency details may change over time due to economic developments and government policies. It is always best to consult reliable and up-to-date sources for the most current information on the Bhutanese Ngultrum (BTN).