Bangladeshi Taka (BDT) Profile

Currency name: 
Currency code: 
Currency symbol: 

Tk., or Bangladeshi taka symbol

1/100 poisha
Coins freq used: 
Tk.1, Tk2, Tk.5
Coins rarely used: 
1 poisha, 5 poisha, 10 poisha, 25 poisha, 50 poisha
Banknotes freq used: 
Tk.2, Tk.5, Tk.10, Tk.20, Tk.50, Tk.100, Tk.500, Tk.1000
Banknotes rarely used: 
Tk.1, Tk.40 (commemorative), Tk.60 (commemorative)
Central bank: 
Bangladesh Bank (
Currency users: 
Currency user map: 


The Bangladeshi Taka (BDT) is the official currency of Bangladesh. It is the legal tender used for all transactions within the country.


The Bangladeshi Taka was first introduced in 1972, replacing the Pakistani Rupee, after Bangladesh gained independence from Pakistan.

The currency was initially pegged to the Indian Rupee but later switched to a floating exchange rate system.

Coins and Banknotes:

The Bangladeshi Taka is subdivided into 100 poisha.


Coins currently in circulation are 1, 5, 10, 25, and 50 poisha, as well as 1, 2, and 5 Taka.


The most commonly used banknotes are 10, 20, 50, 100, 500, and 1000 Taka.

Each banknote typically features important cultural and historical symbols of Bangladesh, such as national monuments and landmarks.