Bangladeshi Taka (BDT) Profile


The Bangladeshi Taka (BDT) is the official currency of Bangladesh. It is the legal tender used for all transactions within the country.


The Bangladeshi Taka was first introduced in 1972, replacing the Pakistani Rupee, after Bangladesh gained independence from Pakistan.

The currency was initially pegged to the Indian Rupee but later switched to a floating exchange rate system.

Coins and Banknotes:

The Bangladeshi Taka is subdivided into 100 poisha.

Subscribe to BDT