Turkmenistani Manat (TMT) Profile


1/100, tenge (teňňe <Turkmen>) (plural: tenge)
1 manat, 2 manat, 1 tenge, 2 tenge, 5 tenge, 10 tenge, 20 tenge, 50 tenge
1 manat, 5 manat, 10 manat, 30 manat, 50 manat, 100 manat, 500 manat
Central Bank of Turkmenistan (www.cbt.tm)


The Turkmenistani Manat (TMT) is the official currency of Turkmenistan. It is the legal tender used for all transactions within the country.


The Manat was introduced in November 1993, replacing the Russian Ruble as the official currency of Turkmenistan after the country gained independence from the Soviet Union.

Over the years, Turkmenistan has undergone monetary reforms, including redenominations, to manage inflation and simplify accounting.

Coins and Banknotes:

The Turkmenistani Manat is subdivided into 100 tennesi.


Coins currently in circulation are 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, and 50 tennesi, as well as 1, 2, and 5 Manat.


The most commonly used banknotes are 1, 5, 10, 20, 50, and 100 Manat.

Each banknote typically features important cultural, historical symbols, and landmarks of Turkmenistan.