Netherlands Antillean Guilder (ANG) Profile

Netherlands Antillean guilder ANG converter to world currencies »

NAƒ, NAf, ƒ, or f

1/100, cent (plural: cents)
ƒ1, ƒ2½, ƒ5, 1cent, 5 cents, 10 cents, 25 cents, 50 cents
ƒ10, ƒ25, ƒ50, ƒ100
ƒ5, ƒ250
Central Bank of Curaçao and Sint Maarten (

1.Netherlands Antillean guilder is pegged with U.S.dollar at 1USD=1.79 ANG
2.plural of guilder is guilders

Netherlands Antillean guilder users

The Netherlands Antillean guilder is the currency of Curacao and Sint Maarten which are the Constituent countries of the Kingdom of the Netherlands.

The Kingdom of the Netherlands currently (since October 10, 2010 to present) consists of four parts, the Netherlands, Aruba, Curacao and Sint Maarten. However the Netherlands comprises the major land area and is on behalf of the most affairs of the Kingdom. The defence, foreign affairs and nationality law issues of Aruba, Curacao and Sint Maarten are responsible by the government of the Kingdom, in a way the government of the Netherlands.  Before October 10, 2010 until back to November 25, 1975, the kingdom of the Netherlands consisted of the Netherlands and the Netherlands Antilles. The Netherlands Antilles was a part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands since October 28, 1954 and dissolved on October 10, 2010, which formerly included territories of Aruba, Curacao, Sint Maarten, Bonaire, Saba and Sint Eustatius. Aruba seceded from the Netherlands Antilles and officially became an autonomous country of the Kingdom on January 1, 1986. Following the dissolution of the Netherlands Antilles in 2010, Curacao and Sint Maarten became two new constituent countries of the Kingdom while Bonaire, Saba and Sint Eustatius became special municipalities of the Netherlands and adopted the U.S.dollar as official currency in January 1, 2011.

The Netherlands Antilles (existed from October 28,1954 to October 28, 2010)
Entities currency name code Notes
Aruba Aruban florin AWG Aruba has been a separate country of the Kingdom of the Netherlands since 1986.
Curacao Netherlands Antillean guilder ANG Curacao has been defined as a "country" within the Kingdom of the Netherlands since 2010.
Sint Maarten Netherlands Antillean guilder  ANG Sint Maarten has been defined as a "country" within the Kingdom of Netherlands since 2010.
Bonaire the U.S.dollar USD Bonaire has been special municipality within the Netherlands since 2010.
Sint Eustatius the U.S.dollar USD Sint Eustatius has been special municipality within the Netherlands since 2010.
Saba the U.S.dollar USD Saba has been special municipality within the Netherlands since 2010.

Aruba, Curacao and Sint Maarten are not parts of European Enion but their citizens are Citizens of the European Eunion.

Netherlands Antillean guilder history

The Netherlands Antillean guilder was renamed from a version of Dutch guilder in the name of Curacao. The Dutch guilder had been the currency of the Netherlands Antilles since the 18 th century until 1940. Before 1828, the Dutch guilder was subdivided into 20 stuiver. The Dutch guilder was reintroduced in 1828 and was subdivided into 100 cents. For specially use in the Netherlands Antilles, a currency in the name of Curacao was introduced around 1900. The name of “Netherlands Antilles” was introduced in 1952.

In 1940, the Netherlands Antillean guilder was not linked to the Dutch currency and pegged to the U.S.dollar at 1 USD= 1.88585 ANG, following the peg change at 1 USD= 1.79 ANG in 1971.

The Netherlands Antillean guilder will be replaced by the newly created currency of Caribbean guilder (proposed code: CMG) at par from 2013.

Netherlands Antillean guilder coins and banknotes

The Netherlands Antillean is subdivided into 100 cents.

The name “Netherlands Antillen” appeared on the coins from 1952 and on the banknotes reverse from 1954. Currently in circulation coins are in denominations of 1, 5, 10, 25, 50 cent, 1, 2½, 5 guilder, banknotes are in denominations of 10, 25, 50, 100 guilder.