Basic facts about Tanzania

Country name: Tanzania
Capital: Dodoma
Country code: 417
Continent: Africa
Currency name: Tanzanian shilling
Independence: 1964-04-26 00:00:00
Independent from: 26 April 1964; Tanganyika became independent on 9 December 1961 from UK-administered UN trusteeship; Zanzibar became independent on 10 December 1963; Tanganyika united with Zanzibar on 26 April 1964; renamed United Republic of Tanzania on 29 October 1964
Total area (km2): 947,300
Land area (km2): 885,800
Water area (km2): 61,500
Population: 48,261,942
Population note: 48,261,942 (July 2013 est.)
Official language: SwahiliEnglish
All languages: Kiswahili or Swahili (official), Kiunguja (name for Swahili in Zanzibar), English (official, primary language of commerce, administration, and higher education), Arabic (widely spoken in Zanzibar), many local languages note: Kiswahili (Swahili) is the mo
Time zone: EAT (UTC+3) - Summer (DST) not observed (UTC+3)
Date format:
Drive on: left
Calling code: +255
Domain: .tz