Tunisian Dinar (TND) Profile

DT (Latin) or Arabic (د.ت )

1/1000,  milim or millime
DT ½ , DT 1, DT 5, 20 milim, 50 milim, 100 milim
DT 10, DT 20, DT 30, DT 50
DT 5
Central Bank of Tunisia ( www.bct.gov.tn)


Tunisian dinar users

The Tunisian dinar is the currency of Tunisia (officially the Republic of Tunisia) which is the smallest country in North Africa. Tunisia was independent from France on March 20, 1956.

Tunisian dinar history

The Tunisian dinar was created in 1958 and replaced the Tunisian franc at a rate of 1000 francs =1 dinar. The Tunisian franc was used in Tunisia from 1891 to 1958, and was equivalent to the French franc.

The Tunisian dinar was pegged to the U.S. dollar at 1 USD=0.42 TND from introduce until 1964. The dinar devalued in 1964 and had been pegged to the U.S. dollar at a rate of 1 USD =0.525 dinar from 1964 to 1971.

Tunisian dinar coins and banknotes

The Tunisian dinar is subdivided into 1000 milimes.

Currently in circulation coins are in denominations of 20, 50, 100 milim, ½, 1, 5 dinar, and banknotes are in denominations of 10, 20, 30, 50 dinar.

Tunisian dinar and the currency of dinar

Dinar is a currency unit. It has a similar name version, denar. Both dinar and denar names derive from the ancient monetary unit, the denarius.

Countries currently using the dinar or similar (exchange rate refer to: Feb.1st, 2013)
Countries Location-continent Currency name  Code 1 USD= 1 EUR= 1 GBP=
Algeria Africa Algerian dinar DZD 77.170 105.286 121.153
Bahrain Asia Bahraini dinar BHD 0.37700 0.51436 0.59187
Iraq Asia Iraqi dinar IQD 1163.000 1158.730 1825.850
Jordan Asia Jordanian dinar JOD 0.70770 0.96555 1.11105
Kuwait Asia Kuwaiti dinar KWD 0.28110 0.38352 0.44131
Libya Africa Libyan dinar LYD 1.25330 1.70994 1.96762
Macedonia Europe Macedonian denar MKD 46.730 63.756 73.364
Serbia Europe Serbian dinar RSD 81.250 110.854 127.559
Tunisia Africa Tunisian dinar TND 1.53100 2.08882 2.40359

Tunisian dinar and the French franc.

The French franc was used among French colonies from nineteenth century until the late decades of twentieth century when after most countries were independent and issued their own currencies.

Tunisia used Tunisian franc from 1891 to 1958 and was equivalent to the French franc. The Tunisian franc was replaced by Tunisian dinar (TND) at a rate of 1000 francs = 1 dinar.

African nations used French franc previously (exchange rate: February 26th, 2013)
Nations Currency name Code Independence from France 1 USD= Notes
Morocco Moroccan dirham MAD in 1956 8.52378 1. The dirham was used as subdivision the Moroccan rial, with 10 dirham = 1 rial, from 1882 to
1921. It was reintroduced in 1960 and replaced the Moroccan franc at 1 dirham = 100 francs in 1974.
2. Moroccan franc was used in Morocco from 1921 until 1974.
Algeria Algerian dinar DZD in 1962 78.9858 1. The Algerian dinar was introduced on 1 April 1964, replacing the Algerian new franc at par.
2. The Algerian franc was used from 1848, equivalent to the French franc initially. Following the French franc revaluation in 1960 (<see notes <1>), the Algerian franc was revalued accordingly at a rate of 100 old Algerian francs = 1 new Algerian franc.
Tunisia Tunisian dinar TND in 1956 1.5765 1. Tunisian dinar was created in 1958 and replaced the Tunisian franc at a rate of 1000 francs = 1 dinar.
2. Tunisian franc was used in Tunisia from 1891 to 1958 and was equivalent to the French franc.
Mauritania Mauritanian ouguiya MRO in 1960 294.249 The Mauritanian ouguiya was introduced in 1973, replacing the CFA franc at a rate of 1 MRO = 5 CFA francs.
Djibouti Djiboutian franc DJF in 1977 170.624 1. The French franc had been circulated in Djibouti since 1884 until 1949 when the independent Djiboutian franc was introduced pegging to the US dollar at a rate of 1 USD =214.392 DJF.
2. The Djiboutian franc was revalued in 1971 and 1973 and has been pegged with U.S. dollar at 1 USD= 177.721 DJF since then.
Guinea Guinean franc GNF in 1958 7036.69 1. The first Guinean franc was introduced in 1959 to replace the CFA franc but was replaced by syli at a rate of 1 syli = 10 francs in 1971.
2. The Guinean franc was reintroduced in 1985, at par with the syli.
Madagascar Malagasy ariary MGA in 1960 2199.96 1. The Malagasy ariary was introduced in 1961, equaled to 5 Malagasy francs. It replaced the Malagasy franc as the official currency January 1, 2005, replaced rate at 1 MGA =5 Malagasy francs.
2. The Malagasy franc was introduced on July 1, 1925, replaced by Madagascar-Comoros CFA franc in 1945. It was reintroduced on July 1, 1963, initially pegged to the French franc with the same value as the CFA franc (1 FRF = 50 MGF) but later devaluated and floated.
3. Madagascar left the CFA zone effective 1 July 1973.
Comoros Comoro franc KMF in 1975 376.983 1. Comoros started to use French franc since 1886.
2. The Madagascar-Comoros CFA franc was used from 1945 to 1960. It was initially fixed with old French franc at 1.7 but later was changed to 2 French francs and remained until 1979.
3. Comoro franc was created and pegged with new French franc (FRF) at 1 FRF=50 KMF since 1979 until 1994 when it's 1 FRF=75 KMF, currently being pegged with euro at 1EUR= 491.96775 KMF.
Mayotte Euro EUR France overseas region 0.76628 Mayotte is an integral part of France and the European Union.
Reunion Euro EUR France overseas region 0.76628 Reunion is an integral part of France and the European Union.

<1>The French franc was revalued on January 1, 1960, with 100 old francs becoming 1 new franc.
<2>The French franc was replaced by euro at a fixed parity of 1 EUR=6.55957 FRF since January 1, 1999.