Basic facts about Suriname

Country name: Suriname
Capital: Paramaribo
Country code: 396
Continent: South America
Currency name: Suriname dollar
Independence: 1975-11-25 00:00:00
Independent from: from the Netherlands
Total area (km2): 163,820
Land area (km2): 156,000
Water area (km2): 7,820
Population: 566,846
Population note: 566,846 (July 2013 est.)
Official language: Dutch
All languages: Dutch (official), English (widely spoken), Sranang Tongo (Surinamese, sometimes called Taki-Taki, is native language of Creoles and much of the younger population and is lingua franca among others), Caribbean Hindustani (a dialect of Hindi), Javanese
Time zone: ART (UTC-3) - Summer (DST) not observed (UTC-3)
Date format:
Drive on: left
Calling code: +597
Domain: .sr