Myanma Kyat (Burmese Kyat) (MMK) Profile

Myanma kyat (Burmese kyat) MMK converter to world currencies »


1/100,  pya
K1, K5, K10, K50, K100, 1 pya, 5 pyas, 10 pyas, 25 pyas, 50 pyas 
K1, K5, K10, K20, K50, K100, K200, K500, K1000, K5000, K10000, 50 pyas
Central Bank of Myanmar (

Myanmar Kyat (Burmese Kyat) Users

The Myanmar Kyat (also known as Burmese Kyat) is the currency of Myanmar (also known as Burma), a country in Southeast Asia.

Burma became an independent republic from the United Kingdom on January 4, 1948, named the Union of Burma. The country's name was renamed from Burma to Myanmar in 1989, with the official full name as the Republic of the Union of Myanmar. However, some countries still continue to use the term "Union of Burma" instead. Both "Burma" and "Myanmar" are derived from the name of the Bamar, which is the dominant Burmese ethnic group.

Myanmar Kyat (Burmese Kyat) History

The currently circulating Myanmar Kyat (Burmese Kyat) was introduced on July 1, 1952, replacing the Burmese rupee at par. It is a decimal currency with a subdivision of 100 pya.

The first kyat was used in Burma between the years 1852 and 1889. The first kyat coinage was denominated in both silver and gold, with 16 silver kyats equivalent to 1 gold kyat. From 1852 to 1942, the Burmese rupee was used, which was the Indian rupee featuring languages used in Burma. The second kyat was reintroduced in 1943 and was subdivided into 100 cents, but was soon replaced by the Burmese rupee again in 1945 with a subdivision of 16 pe (equal to the Indian anna), each of 4 pyas (equal to the Indian pice).

The exchange rate of the Myanmar Kyat (Burmese Kyat) and the U.S. dollar is 1 USD = 864.2766 MMK as of February 28, 2013.

Myanmar Kyat (Burmese Kyat) Coins and Banknotes

The Myanmar Kyat is subdivided into 100 pya. Currently, in circulation, coins are in denominations of 1, 5, 10, 25, 50 pyas, 1, 5, 10, 50, 100 kyats, and banknotes are in denominations of 50 pyas, 1, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200, 500, 1000, 5000, and 10000 kyats.

Myanmar Kyat (Burmese Kyat) and Currency of Rupee

The first rupee was introduced in the sixteenth century and is still used by many countries, including India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Mauritius, Seychelles, Maldives, and Indonesia (as the rupiah). It was formerly used in Burma, Afghanistan, and many countries of the Persian Gulf and the Arabian Peninsula.

Burma used the Burmese rupee between 1852 and 1942, which was equivalent to the Indian rupee.

Countries formerly used the rupee as official currency (exchange rate as of March 1, 2013)
Nations Currency Name Currency Code 1 USD= 1 EUR= 1 GBP= Notes
Afghanistan Afghan afghani AFN 51.9798 67.6616 78.0652 The Afghani replaced the Rupee in 1925.
Myanmar (Burma) Myanmar (Burma) Kyat MMK 861.497 1121.44 1293.72 Myanmar (Burma) Kyat replaced the Rupee in 1952 at par.
United Arab Emirates United Arab Emirates dirham AED 3.673 4.78127 5.51579 Gulf rupee was used in the United Arab Emirates between 1959 and 1966, equivalent to the Indian rupee.
Bahrain Bahraini dinar BHD 0.37703 0.49075 0.56618 1. Gulf rupee was used in Bahrain between 1959 and 1966, equivalent to the Indian rupee. 2. Bahraini dinar was introduced in 1965, replacing the Gulf rupee at a rate of 1 BHD = 10 Gulf rupees.
Kuwait Kuwaiti dinar KWD 0.28375 0.36934 0.4261 1. Gulf rupee was used in Kuwait between 1959 and 1961. It was equivalent to the Indian rupee. 2. Kuwaiti dinar was introduced in 1961, replacing the Gulf rupee at 1 dinar = 13⅓ Gulf rupees.
Oman Omani rial OMR 0.38505 0.50119 0.57822 1. Gulf rupee was used in Oman from 1959 to 1970 and was replaced by the Oman rial Saidi at a rate of approximately 1 rial Saidi = 21 Gulf rupees. 2. Oman rial was introduced in 1973, replacing the rial Saidi at par.

Countries currently use the rupee as official currency (exchange rate as of March 1, 2013)
Nations Currency Name Currency Code 1 USD= 1 EUR= 1 GBP= Notes
Indonesia Indonesian rupiah IDR 9675.00 12592.3 14527.2 The Indonesian rupiah was introduced on January 2, 1949.
India Indian rupee INR 54.9081 71.4646 82.4457 The Indian rupee started to replace the various rupee currencies used by Indian autonomous states since 1845 and got all replaced by 1961.
Maldives Maldivian rufiyaa MVR 15.400 20.0433 23.1257 The Maldivian rufiyaa was introduced in 1947 with an equal value to the rupee.
Mauritius Mauritian rupee MUR 30.930 40.2559 46.4468 The Mauritian rupee was introduced in 1876.
Nepal Nepalese rupee NPR 87.8971 114.404 131.990 The Nepalese rupee was introduced in 1932.
Pakistan Pakistani rupee PKR 98.2574 127.889 147.548 The Pakistan rupee was introduced after the partition from British India in 1947.
Seychelles Seychelles rupee SCR 12.3732 16.1046 18.5802 The Seychelles rupee was introduced in 1914.
Sri Lanka Sri Lanka rupee LKR 127.429 165.874 191.379 The Sri Lanka Rupee was used since January 1872.