Moldovan Leu (MDL) Profile


1/100, ban (plural: bani)
1 ban, 5 bani, 10 bani, 25 bani, 50 bani
1 leu, 5 lei, 10 lei, 50 lei, 100 lei, 200 lei, 500 lei, 1000 lei
National Bank of Moldova (


The Moldovan Leu (MDL) is the official currency of Moldova. It is the legal tender used for all transactions within the country.


The Moldovan Leu was introduced in 1993 after Moldova gained independence from the Soviet Union. It replaced the Soviet ruble as the official currency.

Moldova is a landlocked country located in Eastern Europe, known for its beautiful landscapes, rich cultural heritage, and historical sites.

Coins and Banknotes:

The Moldovan Leu is subdivided into 100 bani.


Coins currently in circulation are 1, 5, 10, 25, and 50 bani, as well as 1, 2, and 5 lei.


The most commonly used banknotes are 1, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200, 500, and 1000 lei.

Each banknote typically features important historical figures, landmarks, and symbols of Moldova.