Fijian Dollar (FJD) Profile

$, or FJ$

1/100, cent; symbol: c
FJ$1, FJ$2, 5c, 10c, 20c, 50c
FJ$2, FJ$5, FJ$10, FJ$20, FJ$50, FJ$100
Reserve Bank of Fiji (

Fijian dollar users

The Fijian dollar is the currency of Fiji (officially the Republic of Fiji), which is an island nation in Melanesia in the South Pacific Ocean. Its geopolitical region belongs to the Oceania continent. Fiji has used the Fijian dollar from 1867 to 1873 and from 1969 to the present. During the years of 1873 to 1969, Fiji used the Fijian pound.

Fiji gained independence from the United Kingdom on October 10, 1970.

Fijian dollar history

The currently circulating Fiji dollar (FJD) was introduced on January 15, 1969, replacing the Fijian pound at a rate of 1 pound = 2 dollars or 1 FJD = 10 shillings. The Fijian pound was used by Fiji from 1873 to 1969 and was subdivided into 20 shillings (symbol: s) with 1 shilling = 12 pence (symbol: d).

Fijian dollar coins and banknotes

The Fijian dollar is subdivided into 100 cents.

Currently in circulation, coins are in denominations of 5, 10, 20, 50 cents, 1, 2 dollars and banknotes are in denominations of 2, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100 dollars.