Basic facts about Spain

Country name: Spain
Capital: Madrid
Country code: 257
Continent: Europe
Currency name: Euro
Independence: 1904-01-31 00:00:00
Independent from: 1492; the Iberian peninsula was characterized by a variety of independent kingdoms prior to the Muslim occupation that began in the early 8th century A.D. and lasted nearly seven centuries
Total area (km2): 505,370
Land area (km2): 498,980
Water area (km2): 6,390
Population: 47,370,542
Population note: 47,370,542 (July 2013 est.)
Official language: Spanish
All languages: Castilian Spanish (official) 74%, Catalan 17%, Galician 7%, and Basque 2% note: Catalan is official in Catalonia, the Balearic Islands, and the Valencian Community (where it is known as Valencian); in the northwest corner of Catalonia (Vall d'Aran), Aran
Time zone: CET (UTC+1) - Summer (DST) CEST (UTC+2a) Note: Except the Canary Islands, which observe UTC+0 (WET) and UTC+1 during summer time.
Date format:
Drive on: right
Calling code: +34
Domain: .es (.eu is also used.)