Argentine Peso (ARS) Profile


1/100, centavo
$1, $2, 1 centavo, 5 centavos, 10 centavos, 25 centavos, 50 centavos
$2, $5, $10, $20, $50, $100
Central Bank of Argentina (

Argentine peso users

The Argentine peso is the currency of Argentina (officially the Argentine Republic) which is located in southern South America. Argentina is the eighth largest country in Latin America and also in the world.

The country name of Argentina was created on July 9, 1816, when its predecessor La Plata Province declared independence from Spain. The name was first formally used in 1826 as Argentine Republic and Argentine Nation.

Argentina is a member of the Union of South American Nations (referred to as UNASUR) which is an intergovernmental union and was established on December 8, 2004, consisting of twelve members and 2 observers (Mexico and Panama). The Union of South American Nations expects to model the European Union and introduce a common currency, possibly by 2019.

Currencies of Union of South American Nations (UNASUR), exchange rate: Feb.14th,2013
"UNASUR" Currency name Code 1USD= 1EUR= 1GBP=
Argentina Argentine peso ARS 5.00599 6.68764 7.75558
Bolivia Bolivian boliviano BOB 6.90964 9.23015 10.7047
Brazil Brazilian real BRL 1.95928 2.61746 3.03543
Chile Chilean peso CLP 470.738 628.85 729.321
Colombia Colombian peso COP 1783.29 2382.35 2762.9
Ecuador United States dollar USD 1.00000 1.33592 1.54932
Guyana Guyanese dollar GYD 203.948 272.451 315.98
Paraguay Paraguayan guaraní PYG 4089.31 5462.93 6335.42
Peru Peruvian nuevo sol PEN 2.56899 3.43197 3.98019
Suriname Suriname dollar SRD 3.28713 4.39199 5.09252
Uruguay Uruguayan peso UYU 19.0398 25.4355 29.4978
Venezuela Venezuelan bolívar VEF 6.29375 8.40786 9.75069
Panama Panamanian balboa PAB 1.00000 1.33592 1.54932
Mexico Mexican peso MXN 12.6915 16.9561 10.6619

1. The group expects to model the EU with a common currency by 2019.
2. Mexico and Panama are observers of the Union of South American Nations.

Argentine peso history

The Argentine peso was introduced in 1991 and replaced the Argentine austral (ARA) at 1 ARS = 10,000 ARA. The first currency of Argentina was introduced in 1813; previously only Spanish colonial reals circulated.

Argentina currencies history (from the year of 1527 to present)
Currency name Code Introduced since (Being) used until Notes
Argentine peso ARS December 31, 1991 Present Argentine peso replaced the Argentine austral at a rate of 1 ARS = 10,000 ARA in 1991.
Argentine austral ARA June 15, 1985 December 31, 1991 Argentine austral replaced the Argentine peso argentino at a rate of 1 ARA = 1000 ARP in 1985.
Argentine peso argentino ARP June 6, 1983 June 14, 1985 Argentine peso argentino replaced the Argentine peso ley at a rate of 1 ARP = 10,000 ARL.
Argentine peso ley ARL January 1, 1970 May 5, 1983 Argentine peso ley replaced the Argentine peso moneda nacional at a rate of 1 ARL = 100 ARM.
Argentine peso moneda nacional ARM November 5, 1881 December 31, 1969 Argentine peso moneda nacional replaced the Argentine real at a rate of 1 ARM = 8 Argentine real.
Argentine real / 1813 November 5, 1881 Argentina started issuing its own real coins since 1813 in the name of the "Rio de la Plata Province".
Argentine Peso fuerte / 1826 1881 The peso fuerte was a convertible currency and was only introduced in paper money. It replaced the Spanish peso with 17 peso fuertes equaling one Spanish ounce (27.0643 g) of 0.916 fine gold and later was dropped to 16 pesos fuertes per Spanish gold ounce in 1864. The peso fuerte was replaced by Peso moneda nacional (ARM) at par in 1881.
Argentine Peso moneda corriente / 1826 1881 The peso moneda corriente was a non-convertible currency and was only introduced in paper money. It was introduced at par with the Peso fuerte and replaced at 1 ARM = 25 peso monedas corrientes in 1881.
Spanish colonial reales / around 1527 1813 Before 1813, Spanish colonial reals circulated alone in Argentina.

Argentine peso coins and banknotes

The Argentine peso is subdivided into 100 centavos.

Currently, in circulation, coins are in denominations of 1, 5, 10, 25, 50 centavos, 1, 2 pesos, and banknotes are in denominations of 2, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100 pesos.

Argentine peso and the currency of peso

Peso was originally the name of the Spanish dollar (also known as the piece of eight or the eight-real coin) which was issued by Spain and minted in the Spanish Empire. Hence, Peso has been a monetary unit used by many countries which were former Spanish colonies.

Peso fuerte was the first paper money issued by Argentina and was introduced in 1826. It was pegged to the Peso with 17 pesos fuertes being equal to one Spanish ounce of gold. It was later replaced by the Argentine Peso moneda nacional in 1881 at par.