Vanuatu Vatu (VUV) Profile

Currency name: 
Currency code: 
Currency symbol: 


Coins freq used: 
1 VT, 2VT, 5VT, 10VT, 20VT, 50VT, 100VT
Coins rarely used: 
Banknotes freq used: 
100VT, 200VT, 500VT, 1000VT, 2000VT, 5000VT, 10000VT
Banknotes rarely used: 
Central bank: 
Reserve Bank of Vanuatu (
Currency users: 
Currency user map: 


The Vanuatu Vatu (VUV) is the official currency of Vanuatu. It is the legal tender used for all transactions within the country.


The Vatu was introduced in 1982, replacing the New Hebrides Franc, after Vanuatu gained independence from the joint colonial administration of France and the United Kingdom.

Vanuatu is an archipelago in the South Pacific and is known for its stunning natural landscapes and diverse cultures.

Coins and Banknotes:

The Vanuatu Vatu is subdivided into 100 centimes, although centimes coins are not commonly used nowadays.


Coins currently in circulation are 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50, and 100 Vatu.


The most commonly used banknotes are 200, 500, 1000, 2000, and 5000 Vatu.

Each banknote typically features important cultural, historical symbols, and landmarks of Vanuatu.