Kyrgyzstani Som (KGS) Profile

Currency name: 
Currency code: 
Currency symbol: 


1/100, tyiyn (plural: tyiyn)
Coins freq used: 
1 som, 3 som, 5 som, 10 som
Coins rarely used: 
1 tyiyn, 10 tyiyn, 50 tyiyn
Banknotes freq used: 
20 som, 50 som, 100 som, 200 som, 500 som, 1000 som, 5000 som
Banknotes rarely used: 
1 som, 5 som, 10 som, 1 tyiyn, 10 tyiyn, 50 tyiyn
Central bank: 
National Bank of the Kyrgyz Republic (
Currency users: 
Currency user map: 


The Kyrgyzstani Som (KGS) is the official currency of Kyrgyzstan. It is the legal tender used for all transactions within the country.


The Kyrgyzstani Som was introduced in May 1993, following the breakup of the Soviet Union and Kyrgyzstan's declaration of independence.

Before the Som, the Russian Ruble was used as the official currency during the Soviet era.

The Som has undergone several redenominations in its history to manage inflation and simplify accounting.

Coins and Banknotes:

The Kyrgyzstani Som is subdivided into 100 tyiyn, although tyiyn coins are rarely used due to their low value.


Coins currently in circulation are 1, 3, 5, and 10 som, as well as 50 tyiyn.


The most commonly used banknotes are 20, 50, 100, 200, 500, 1000, and 5000 som.

Each banknote typically features important cultural and historical symbols of Kyrgyzstan.