Turkish Lira (TRY) Profile

Currency name: 
Currency code: 
Currency symbol: 

Turkish lira symbol

1/100, Kuruş (symbol: kr)
Coins freq used: 
1lira, 5 kr, 10 kr, 25 kr, 50 kr
Coins rarely used: 
1 kr
Banknotes freq used: 
5 liras, 10 liras, 20 liras, 50 liras
Banknotes rarely used: 
100 liras,200 liras
Central bank: 
Central Bank of the Republic of Turkey (
Currency users: 
Currency notes: 

1.Nicknames: Kağıt, Mangır, Papel
2.plural of lira: lire or liras

Currency user map: 

Turkish lira users

The Turkish lira is the currency of Turkey and the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus (Northern Cyprus or North Cyprus) which is a self-declared independency from Cyprus (officially the Republic of Cyprus) in 1974 and is only recognized by Turkish internationally. Nicosia is the capital of both Northern Cyprus and the Republic of Cyprus. The Republic of Cyprus is a member of the European Union and has adopted the euro as official currency.

Turkey has typically geographical location. It straddles both Asia and Europe. The small part of Turkey is at southeastern Europe while major parts occupy all of Asia Minor Peninsula. Regarding the application to be the European Union member, Turkey’s accession process is considered to be the longest. Turkey has been an associate member of the European Economic Community since 1963 and joined the European Union Customs Union (EUCU) in 1995. Turkey made application to accede to the European Union in 1987 and was recognized as a candidate for full membership in December of 1999. The accession negotiations were started since October 2005.  

Turkish lira history

Turkish lira (currency code: TRY) was introduced on 1st January 2005 replacing the previous Turkish lira at a rate of 1 TRY lira =1,000,000 previous Turkish lira (currency code: TRL).

During the transitional period from 1st January 2005 to 31st December 2008, the newly introduced Turkish lira was officially called New Turkish lira (officially abbreviated as “YTL”) which was subdivided into 100 new kurus. Eventually, since 1st January 2009, the “new” was removed and its official name became Turkish lira (currency code: TRY) again.

Turkish lira coins and banknotes

The Turkish lira is subdivided into 100 kuruş. Currency symbol is ₺. 

Since 2009, the Turkish lira (TRY) the "E-9 Emission Group" of coins and banknotes were introduced.  Coins in circulation are 1kr, 5kr, 10kr, 25kr, 50kr, 1 lira and banknotes are 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200 lira.