Sri Lankan Rupee (LKR) Profile

Sri Lankan rupee users

The Sri Lankan rupee is the currency of Sri Lanka (officially the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka) which is an island country in South Asia. It locates in the northern Indian Ocean. 

Sri Lanka was formerly known as Ceylon until 1972 when Ceylon became a republic within the Commonwealth and was changed name to Sri Lanka. Ceylon declared independence from the United Kingdom in 1948. Between 1815 and 1948, it was a British Crown colony and known as British Ceylon.



Subscribe to RSS - LKR