₪ ½、₪2、₪5、₪10、10アゴラ
イスラエル銀行 (



Israeli new shekel users

The Israeli new shekel is the currency of Israel (officially the State of Israel) which is a country in the Middle East Asia. The Israeli new shekel has also been used in Palestinian territories alongside Jordanian dinar (JOD, in West bank area) and Egyptian pound (EGP, in the Gaza strip).

On May 14, 1948, Israel gained independence from British Mandate of Palestine which administered the territory now known as Israel, Jerusalem, the West Bank and Gaza during the years between 1920 and 1948.

Israeli new shekel history

The Israeli new shekel was introduced on January 1, 1986 and replaced the Old Israeli shekel at a rate of 1 Israeli New shekel (ILS)= 1000 Old Israeli shekel.

Israel currency history (from 1844 to present)
Currency name Used in Israel between Subunits Notes
Israeli new shekel January 1,1986 - present 1/100, agora 1. The Israeli new shekel (ILS) has been a freely convertible currency since January 1, 2003.
2. Israel has no mint so the coins and banknotes of Israeli new shekel are produced outside of Israel. 
Israeli old shekel February 24, 1980 - December 1985 1/100, new agora Israeli old shekel was replaced by Israeli new shekel (ILS) at a rate of 1 new shekel (ILS) = 1000 old shekel.
Israeli lira (or Israel pound) August 1948 - February 23, 1980 1/100, agora (1960–1980)
1/1000, pruta (1948–1960)
The Israeli lira (or Israel pound) was replaced by Israeli old shekel at a rate of 1 shekel = 10 lira. 
Palestine pound 1927 - August 1948 1/1000, Mill 1. The Palestine pound was issued by British Mandate of Palestine, equivalent to British pound. It was replaced by Israeli lira (or Israel pound).
2. British Mandate of Palestine administered the territory now known as Israel, Jerusalem, the West Bank and Gaza before May 15, 1948.
3. Palestine pound was used in Israel as a legal tender between 1948 and 1952 also. 
Ottoman lira  1844 - 1927 1/5, mecidiye
1/100, kuruş
1/4000, para
1. Ottoman lira was introduced by Ottoman Empire of which Palestine was used to be an integral part until 1918. 
2. Egyptian pound also circulated alongside the Ottoman lira from 1920 until 1927.