Rp 100、Rp 200、Rp 500
Rp 50
Rp 1000、Rp 2000、Rp 5000、Rp 10000、Rp 20000、Rp 50000、Rp 100000
インドネシア銀行 (





Indonesian rupiah users

The Indonesian rupiah is the official currency of Indonesia (officially the Republic of Indonesia) which is an islands country in Southeast Asia.

Indonesia declared independence from the Netherlands on August 17, 1945 and was acknowledged on December 27, 1949.

Indonesian rupiah history

The Indonesian rupiah was introduced on November 2, 1949 as official currency of Indonesia. Previously, Indonesia used the Netherlands guldens. The name of rupiah was from the Indian word of rupee. Informally, Indonesians also use the word “perak” (which means “silver” in Indonesian) instead of rupiah.

The exchange rate of Indonesian rupiah and the U.S. dollar was at 1 USD =3.8 IDR essentially when it was introduced. Currently the exchange rate is 1 USD = 9669.9081 IDR as per date of February 27, 2013. The largest Indonesian banknote of 100,000 rupiah is worth about us$10.34. Indonesia may reintroduce the rupiah by removing three zeros starting 2014 and the existing rupiah to be ceased out by the end of 2016.

Indonesian rupiah coins and banknotes

The Indonesian rupiah is subdivided into 100 sen. But actually the smallest in circulating coins are 50 rupiah.

Currently in circulation coins are in denominations of 100, 200, 500, 1000 Rupiah and banknotes are in denominations of 1000, 2000, 5000, 10000.20000, 50000, 100000 Rupiah.

Indonesian rupiah and the currency of rupee

The first rupee was introduced in the sixteenth century. It is still being used by many countries including India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Mauritius, Seychelles, Maldives, Indonesia (as the rupiah). It was formerly used in Burma, Afghanistan and many countries of Persian Gulf and the Arabian Peninsula.

Indonesia has been used the rupiah as official currency since 1949.

Countries formerly used the rupee as official currency   (exchange rate as per: March 1, 2013)
Nations Currency name Currency code 1 USD= 1 EUR= 1 GBP= Notes
Afghanistan Afghan afghani AFN 51.9798 67.6616 78.0652 The Afghani replaced Rupee in 1925.
Myanmar (Burma) Myanmar(Burma)kyat MMK 861.497 1121.44 1293.72 Myanmar (Burma) Kyat replaced Rupee in 1952 at par.
United Arab Emirates  United Arab Emirates dirham  AED 3.673 4.78127 5.51579 Gulf rupee was used in the United Arab emirates between 1959 and 1966, equivalent to the Indian rupee. 
Bahrain Bahraini dinar BHD 0.37703 0.49075 0.56618 1. Gulf rupee was used in Bahrain between 1959 and 1966, equivalent to the Indian rupee.
2. Bahraini dinar was introduced in 1965, replacing the Gulf rupee at a rate of 1 BHD =10 Gulf rupees. 
Kuwait Kuwaiti dinar KWD 0.28375 0.36934 0.4261 1. Gulf rupee was used in Kuwaiti between1959 and 1961. It was equivalent to the Indian rupee.
2. Kuwaiti dinar was introduced in 1961, replacing the Gulf rupee at 1 dinar = 13⅓ Gulf rupee. 
Oman Omani rial OMR 0.38505 0.50119 0.57822 1. Gulf rupee was used in Oman from 1959 to 1970 and was replaced by Oman rial Saidi at a rate of approximately 1 rial Saidi =21 Gulf rupees.
2. Oman rial was introduced in 1973, replacing the rial Saidi at par. 
Countries currently use the rupee as official currency (exchange rate as per: March 1, 2013)
Nations Currency name Currency code 1 USD= 1 EUR= 1 GBP= Notes
Indonesia Indonesian rupiah IDR 9675.00 12592.3 14527.2 The Indonesian rupiah was introduced on 2 January 1949.
India Indian rupee  INR 54.9081 71.4646 82.4457 The Indian rupee started to replace the various rupee currencies used by Indian autonomous states since 1845 and got all replaced by 1961.
Maldives Maldivian rufiyaa MVR 15.400 20.0433 23.1257 The Maldivian rufiyaa was introduced in 1947 with equal value to the rupee.
Mauritius Mauritian rupee MUR 30.930 40.2559 46.4468 The Mauritian rupee was introduced in 1876.
Nepal Nepalese rupee NPR 87.8971 114.404 131.990 The Nepalese rupee was introduced in 1932.
Pakistan Pakistani rupee PKR 98.2574 127.889 147.548 The Pakistan rupee was introduced after the partition from British India in 1947. 
Seychelles Seychelles rupee SCR 12.3732 16.1046 18.5802 The Seychelles rupee was introduced in 1914.
Sri Lanka Sri Lanka rupee LKR 127.429 165.874 191.379 The Sri Lanka Rupee was used since January 1872.