1/100、センターボ(centavo、複数形はセンタボ、通貨記号は¢ 、c)
ホンジュラス中央銀行 (





Honduran lempira users

The Honduran is the currency of Honduras which is a republic country in Central America, officially the Republic of Honduras.  Honduras declared independence from Spain in 1821 and then under the Mexican Empire from 1821-1823. In the year of 1823, Honduras became a part of a short-lived sovereign state named Federal Republic of Central America (existed from 1823 to 1840) which consisted of the present-day nations of Guatemala, EI Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua, Costa Rica and Mexico. After 1838, Honduras became an independent republic country.

Honduran lempira history

The Honduran lempira was introduced in 1931 replacing the peso at par. The peso was used in Honduras between 1862 and 1931, initially was worth and subdivided into 8 reals and later in 1871 it was decimalized and subdivided into 100 centavos.

The United States dollars are widely accepted on the Bay Islands and some major tourist centers of Honduras mainland.

Honduran lempira coins and banknotes

Honduran lempira is subdivided into 100 centavos.   Currently in circulation coins are in denomination of 10, 20, 50 centavos and banknotes are in denomination of 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 500 lempira

Honduran lempira and the currency of peso

Peso was originally the name of Spanish dollar (also known as the piece of eight or the eight-real coin) which was issued by Spain and minted in the Spanish Empire. Hence, Peso was used or still being used by many nations which were the former Spanish colonies.

Countries that previously used the peso (exchange rate as per:Feb.12th,2013)
Countries  Official country name Currency name Currency code Location- Continent 1 USD= Independence from Spain
Bolivia Plurinational State of Bolivia Bolivian boliviano BOB South America 6.90963 1.Declared, 6 August 1825
2.Recognized, 21 July 1847
3.Current constitution, 7 Feb.2009
Costa Rica Republic of Costa Rica Costa Rican colón CRC Central America 500.560 1.from Spain, Sep.15,1821
2.Recognizednby Spain, May 10,1850
3.Constitution, Nov.7,1949
Ecuador Republic of Ecuador United States dollar USD South America 1.000 1.Declared, Aug.10, 1809
2.from Spain, May 24,1822
3.Recognized, Feb.16,1830
Equatorial Guinea Republic of Equatorial Guinea Central African CFA franc XAF Africa 487.639 from spain, 12 Oct.1968
EI Salvador Republic of El Salvador United States dollar USD North America 1.000 1.from Spain, Sep.15,1821
2.Recognized by Spain, June 24,1865
3.from the Greater Republic of Central America, 1898
Guatemala Republic of Guatemala Guatemalan quetzal GTQ North America 7.8445 1.Declared, 15 Sep.1821
2.Restored, 1 July 1823
3.Current constitution, 31 May 1985
Guinea-Bissau Republic of Guinea-Bissau West African CFA franc XOF Africa 487.641 Independence from Portugal
1.Declared, 24 Sep.1973
2.Recognized, 10 Sep.1974
Honduras Republic of Honduras Honduran lempira HNL North America 19.920 1.Declared, 15 Sep.1821
2.Declared 5 Nov.1838 as Honduras
Nicaragua Republic of Nicaragua Nicaraguan córdoba NIO North America 24.285 1.Declared, 15 Sep.1821
2.Current constitution, 9 Jan.1987
Paraguay Republic of Paraguay Paraguayan guaraní PYG South America 4114.51 1.Declared, 14 May 1811
2.Recognized, 15 May 1811
Peru Republic of Peru Peruvian nuevo sol PEN South America 2.58399 1.Declared, July 28,1821
2.Recognized, 14 August 1879
3.Current constitution, 31 Dec.1993
Venezuela Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela Venezuelan bolívar VEF South America 4.300 1.from Spain, 5 July 1811
2.Recognized, 30 March 1845
3.Current Constitution, 20 Dec.1999
Spain Kingdom of Spain the Euro EUR Europe 1.34509 Current Constitutional democracy, 1978