Samoan Tālā (WST) Profile

Currency name: 
Currency code: 
Currency symbol: 

WS$ (sometimes SAT, ST or T)

1/100 , sene 
Coins freq used: 
WS$1, WS$2, 10 sene, 20 sene, 50 sene
Coins rarely used: 
Banknotes freq used: 
WS$2, WS$5, WS$10, WS$20, WS$50, WS$100
Banknotes rarely used: 
Central bank: 
Central Bank of Samoa (
Currency users: 
Currency user map: 


The Samoan Tālā (WST) is the official currency of Samoa. It is the legal tender used for all transactions within the country.


The Tālā was introduced in 1967, replacing the pound when Samoa gained independence from New Zealand.

Samoa has a close association with New Zealand and maintains strong economic ties with the region.

Coins and Banknotes:

The Samoan Tālā is subdivided into 100 sene.


Coins currently in circulation are 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50 sene, as well as 1 and 2 Tālā.


The most commonly used banknotes are 5, 10, 20, 50, and 100 Tālā.

Each banknote typically features important cultural, historical symbols, and landmarks of Samoa.